## Senate

## **Terms of Reference:**

The Senate is the primary decision-making body of the University with the right to supervise, monitor, evaluate and make decisions on the activities of the University. The powers and functions of the Senate are set out under Act CXXXII of 2011 (NUPS Act) and the University's Organizational and Operational Regulations.

Subject to the ratification of the Board of Governors, the Senate may approve of the following:

- teaching and research tasks of the University;
- introduction of new study programs;
- University's Organizational and Operational Regulations;
- University's Quality Improvement Program;
- guidelines for wage distribution based on quality and performance;
- University's budget;
- initiation of development programs;
- University's annual report based on accounting provisions;
- execution plan of the annual and "over 1 year" Commitment Plans;
- University's Asset Management Plan.

The Senate may, at its discretion, initiate an investigation into cases related to the University and may designate a commission to carry out such investigations.

Subject to the provisions of the NUPS Act, the Senate may delegate any of its rights to other boards or councils of the University.

## **Composition of the Senate:**

The Senate has 45 full members with the right to vote among which the Rector and the faculty deans are permanents members, whereas the other full members are either elected or delegated.

The number of elected full members is 26 from which:

- four university or college lecturers, assistant lecturers, senior lecturers, assistant professors or professors are elected from each faculty (with the exception of the Faculty of Water Sciences from where only two such members are elected);
- one member is elected from each inter-faculty institute;
- one member comes from the University's Centre for Executive Training and Continuing Education;
- four members are employed in positions different from the aforementioned.

The number of delegated full members are 13 from which:

- one member is the chair of the University's Students Union, and an additional student member is delegated by the Students Union;

- one student is delegated by the Student Union of Doctoral Students;
- the student union of each faculty delegates two students with the exception of the Faculty of Water Sciences, which is represented by one of its students;
- one member is delegated by the concerned trade unions.

In addition to the aforementioned full members, the following members of the Senate have consultative status:

- the members of the Board of Governors;
- the Vice-Rectors of the University;
- the University's Director General for Economic Affairs.